Subject: 2017 LG Boundary Redistribution Submission

Date: Friday, 24 February 2017 at 4:41:31 PM Australian Eastern Daylight Time

From: James walker

To: Redistribution Submissions

To Whom It May Concern,

Up until the mid 1990s the Tasmanian Legislative Council divisions had variances in population numbers that could kindly be referred to as unbalanced but more accurately be described as atrociously malapportioned.

Achieving and maintaining equal numbers of voters within the quota tolerances is rightly the number one priority of this redistribution process. Given the smaller quotas for Legislative Council divisions compared to Federal divisions this is more challenging even though a higher 10% tolerance is used with Legislative Council divisions.

I believe the changes set out in the Initial Redistribution Proposal by the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (TEC) achieve this balance in a reasonable and durable fashion.

I appreciate the opportunity afforded to utilise the electoral mapping software at the TEC. This allowed me to understand that placing all of Sorell Local Government Area (LGA) within the proposed Prosser division was not as simple as I had initially anticipated.

I would however suggest that the residual 34 Clarence LGA voters be transferred across from Prosser to Rumney. This is the boundary alignment used for dividing Franklin and Lyons at the State and Federal electorate level.

Under the proposal voters from Hobart LGA are split into the Legislative Council divisions of Elwick, Hobart and Nelson. The division of Launceston whilst mainly drawing voters from the Launceston LGA will also include places such as the town of Perth.

I raise this merely to suggest that in future naming Legislative Council divisions after cities or towns should be avoided.

Thank you again	for the opportunity	to participate in t	thic process
illalik you agalli	ioi the opportunity	to participate in	uns process.

Yours Sincerely

James Walker

Sent from my iPad

Sent from my iPad